Bhutan’s currency is the Ngultrum.

Ngultrum symbol: Nu.

It is divided into 100 smaller units called chhertum.

It is at par with the Indian rupee which is accepted as legal tender in the country.

INR (Indian Rupees) denominations of 500 and 1000 are not accepted in Bhutan.

ATMs are located within all main towns throughout Bhutan, where money can be withdrawn using a Visa or MasterCard.